A time to live and a time to die!

DSC_2068

I remembered the other day of Erich Maria Remarque’s book” A time to live, a time to die”. I read it during the long warm nights of summer when I was a teenage, at the countryside. I was spending the nights reading… I was sleeping until midday.;)

DSC_2073
There’s an indescribable feeling to enter into the atmosphere of the second world war period, where love and death blend into a captivating story. The German soldiers are depicted in an interesting way, more like young men involved into a war that they don’t really understand.

DSC_2072

There’s a sort of humanity given to the German soldiers that hasn’t been often shown in movies and books which speak about the second world war.

DSC_2069

Speaking about Remarque…I also remembered Cezar Petrescu and his novel “Intunecare”, “Darkening”. It’s again about war(first world war this time) and its consequences and the post-war deceived hopes of young people. I love his writing and I still don’t get why he’s not more known(I’m referring to Romania).
DSC_2075
Anyway, I miss reading in my mother tongue, that’s what I realize. I guess I’ll have to find some books in Romanian.:)
DSC_2074

Leave a Reply

